HIDDEN HEAT by Carla Swafford: Review

Posted May 4, 2016 in Reviews / 0 Comments

HIDDEN HEAT by Carla Swafford: ReviewHidden Heat by Carla Swafford
Series: Brothers of Mayhem #1
Published by Loveswept
Publication Date: February 16th 2016
Pages: 219
Source: Publisher
Format: eARC
Goodreads
Buy Online: Amazon  Barnes & Noble  Kobo

Disclaimer: I voluntarily reviewed a copy of this book. All opinions stated are solely mine.

Sizzling with passion and suspense, perfect for fans of Joanna Wylde and Julie Ann Walker, the Brothers of Mayhem series revs up as a headstrong beauty faces off against an outlaw motorcycle club—and falls for the bad boy she never saw coming.

Cassidy Ryder refuses to be intimidated by anyone, even the hell-raising, hard-drinking Brothers of Mayhem. The daughter of their former president, she’s not above smashing a few heads to keep her teenage brother safe. But when Cassidy’s big mouth gets her in trouble, the only thing that saves her is some quick thinking from the Brothers’ bartender. He’s commanding and strong, and as smooth as the whiskey he pours: the ultimate temptation for a girl who swore she’d never be a biker’s plaything.

But Thorn Savalas is no ordinary biker. He’s a cop, and he’s worked too hard earning the Brothers’ trust to blow his cover over a female—even one who rocks a pair of jeans like Cassidy. The only way to protect her is by claiming she’s his old lady. Trouble is, Thorn can’t just pretend. He wants Cassidy, and every scorching touch tells him she feels the same. But acting on their hottest fantasies could leave them both exposed . . . even if nothing else has ever felt so real.

 

Review

As the daughter of the former president of the Brothers of Mayhem MC Cassidy Ryder is biker royalty, not that it matters to her. All she wants is to get her younger brother out of the clutches of the MC before he’s too far gone and she doesn’t plan on letting anyone or anything get in the way of her goal. Only, she forgot her place in the hierarchy and only the quick intervention of a stranger saves her from landing in a world of hurt or worse.

Thorn Savalas is an undercover cop tasked with bringing down the Brothers of Mayhem and he can’t let Cassidy throw a wrench in his plans nor is he going to sit by and let her get hurt. 

When Thorn stepped up to save Cassidy and declared her his old lady, I was excited about how their romance would play out, especially with her feisty and fiery way of going at things. Between the sheets, everything was as hot as I expected. But beyond that is where I had issues. There is a line between feisty and foolish and it didn’t take long for Cassidy to cross it, in my opinion. For someone who grew up in an MC, she was really careless about her safety and spent whatever capital her connections had bought her by mouthing off at men who could and would do whatever they wanted to her without any fear of repercussions. Luckily for her, Thorn was really patient and protective and stood between her and the rest of the MC.

I decided to tackle genres that I have previously avoided this year and MC romances fall into that category. There have been some hits and misses along the way and HIDDEN HEAT falls somewhere in the middle. Ms. Swafford captures the gritty and dissolute lifestyle that is expected in a way that was too real and sometimes uncomfortable, as well as the illicit nature of their dealings.

However, my lack of complete enjoyment of this book can be attributed mostly to Cassidy. She was immature, reckless and out of control in an annoying way. The end of the story left me with a lot more questions than answers, but I’ll still recommend checking it out for yourself. 

 

 

About Carla Swafford

Carla Swafford loves romance novels, action/adventure movies, and men, and her books reflect that. Plus she's a rare creature in the Deep South, she loves hockey. Carla's married to her high school sweetheart and lives in Alabama.


Sign up for my Newsletter

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.