WHEN WE FALL by Marquita Valentine: Review

Posted December 21, 2015 in Reviews / 0 Comments

WHEN WE FALL by Marquita Valentine: ReviewWhen We Fall by Marquita Valentine
Series: Take the Fall #2
Published by Loveswept
Publication Date: December 8th 2015
Pages: 202
Source: Publisher
Format: eARC
Goodreads
Buy Online: Amazon  Barnes & Noble  Kobo

Disclaimer: I voluntarily reviewed a copy of this book. All opinions stated are solely mine.

In the captivating new novel in Marquita Valentine’s Boys of the South spinoff series—perfect for readers of Abbi Glines and Katy Evans—a small-town sweetheart takes a chance on the bad boy who’s always been her hottest fantasy.

The last time Piper Ross saw her best friend’s sexy older brother, Jase Simmons, he was being taken away in handcuffs. Seven years later, two things haven’t changed: Piper is still head-over-heels in love with him . . . and Forrestville’s chief of police—Piper’s dad—still hates his guts. So when Piper sees a chance to get close to Jase, she makes her move—literally. As his new roommate, and as the office manager of his tattoo shop, Piper won’t be satisfied until Jase knows that she wants to be his.

The quintessential good girl, Piper is pure temptation for Jase. The only reason he’s always kept his distance is because she’s the last person he’d ever want to hurt. But once he realizes that Piper is ready to take the leap, everything just makes sense. Suddenly Jase feels like a new man—until nasty rumors start swirling and Piper’s heartless father stirs up even more trouble. Now Jase must convince Piper that she wasn’t wrong about him . . . because falling in love never felt so right.

 

 

Review

While I enjoyed the first book in this series, I was interested in this because of the differences between Piper and Jase and how a relationship between them would play out.

Piper Ross is the quintessential princess, born with a silver spoon and privy to the best that life has to offer materially, except for what matters most: loving parents. With a critical and overbearing mother and a father who ignores her, Piper has found her own family in her best friend, Rowan and Rowan’s brother Jase. But Piper has been in love with Jase since she was a teen and even his stint in jail does not discourage her feelings. Watching the constant parade of women in his life has her determined to make her move finally and she does so by moving into his house as his roommate and working with him as his office manager. 

Just out of jail, Jase Simmons is trying to get his life in order without any more drama, which having Piper around him are sure to bring. Not because he doesn’t like her, but because he likes her too much but he also knows that Piper is beyond his reach and he can’t offer her anything. Piper is from a wealthy family and is a good girl, but a lot more inexperienced than the women he usually gets involved with and worst of all, her father is the police chief and is sure to take issue with his daughter getting involved with an ex-con. Well, none of that matters when Piper finagles her way into his life by working and living with him, making his decision to keep his hands off her even harder.

Piper is so sweet, the kind of sweet that can make your teeth ache, so her act of rebellion – moving out of her parents’ home – was a welcome one and when coupled with her making a bid for Jase, showed that there was some backbone under all of that buttoned up sweetness. 

And Jase. His rejection of Piper was really his way of protecting her, misguided as it was and when he finally accepted that she was interested in him for real, he treated her like the princess she really was. On the outside Jase may have all the trappings of a bad boy, but on the inside he had a big heart and his gentleness and softness with Piper was so sweet. He even brought out a whole new side to Piper, who went from mousy and meek to confident.

A bad boy who falls hard for his woman is hard to resist and Jase’s hardened edges mellowed with Piper in his life. I like that after they got together, they both accepted what was happening between them and didn’t focus on their differences but on making what they had work. The only major drama came from Piper’s parents and their attempts to control Piper and separate them.

WHEN WE FALL was a pleasant read, with just enough angst and drama and two very different people finding common ground in their feelings for each other. I have to say that I liked Rowan here more than in her book. She was very supportive and protective of her best friend and may have been the driving force behind Piper’s bold decision to fight for Jase.

 

 

About Marquita Valentine

Marquita Valentine is the New York Times and USA Today Bestselling Author of the Holland Springs and Boys of the South series.

Since first taking the plunge in July of 2012 to self publish, Marquita Valentine has sold over a quarter of a million books around the world. She's appeared on the Top 100 Bestselling Ebooks Lists on iBooks, Amazon Kindle, and Barnes&Noble. She's been called "one of the best new voices in romance" (Guilty Pleasures Book Reviews) and her books have been accused of being "a sexy, fun, and slightly addicting contemporary read" (The Book Queen).

Recently, Marquita signed a multi-book deal with Penguin Random House that will debut in July of 2015.

When she's not writing sexy heroes who adore their sassy heroines, she enjoys shopping, reading, and spending time with her family and friends. Married to her high school sweetheart, Marquita lives in a seriously small town in the south with her husband, two kids, and a dog.


Sign up for my Newsletter

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.