ALL I NEED IS YOU by Wendy S. Marcus: Review

Posted October 7, 2015 in Reviews / 0 Comments

ALL I NEED IS YOU by Wendy S. Marcus: ReviewAll I Need Is You by Wendy S. Marcus
Series: Loving You #2
Published by Loveswept
Publication Date: October 6th 2015
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 252
Source: Publisher
Format: eARC
Goodreads
Buy Online: Amazon  Barnes & Noble  Kobo

I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Perfect for fans of Kristan Higgins and Robyn Carr, this sexy yet sweet military romance reunites a headstrong dancer and a rugged army soldier after one steamy encounter tears them apart.

As a dancer who creates mesmerizing visions onstage, Neve James is looking for the same kind of stability in her love life. Her pen pal, Rory McRoy, is on leave from deployment in Afghanistan, so she heads to Boston to surprise him. After corresponding for months as part of a “Support Our Troops” initiative—and exchanging dozens of “Read When You’re Alone” letters—Neve knows what Rory likes, and she intends to fulfill his every fantasy. But all they get are a few blissful moments together before they’re interrupted by a woman claiming to be Rory’s fiancée.

Rory has fallen hard for Neve’s letters. When he finally meets her in person, he has to have her, right then and there—until Neve takes off in a fit of anger. Forced to return to Afghanistan before he can fix things between them, Rory waits four agonizing months to prove that he’s not the man Neve thinks he is. But by the time he arrives in New York, she’s already made up her mind. Luckily, Rory never backs down from a challenge, and he’s prepared to put everything on the line for love.

 

Review

Neve James has made a few decisions in her life that she regrets and is on a journey to transform her life and make better choices. As part of her life improvement plan, she signs up to be a military pen-pal and get assigned Rory McRoy as her pal. Their letters are in turn naughty and thoughtful and they are open and honest with each other, sharing a lot about themselves with each other than they had ever done with anyone else and the result is that they develop a solid friendship. However, a misunderstanding leads to things going south very quickly.

ALL I NEED IS YOU is quite the complicated story. Between Neve’s self-perception issues, Rory’s PTSD and their complex family dynamics, there is a lot going on here. Honestly, I have mixed feelings about the characters. Both Rory and Neve were messed up and in need of profession help to address their issues. For Neve, everything goes back to the revelations about the circumstances of her birth, something that rocked her world in a major way and caused her to act out. I love that she lived her life the way she wanted, to the fullest but I didn’t like that she was quick to jump to conclusions. She was her own worst enemy and harshest critic. 

Rory grew up in an Irish Catholic family where his mother ruled with an iron fist and his background was obviously the force behind his views on marriage and family. He dropped the ball a few times, but I like that he was patient and protective of Neve and was there for her when she needed him. Somehow, they it was easy for them to communicate when they wrote each other but not when they were face to face. Their friendship helped them get through all the issues that came up between them, but their volatile relationship can be summed up in a few words – lack of communication. But their story is not all bad. They had some great and funny moments and Neve’s daring and fun-loving side made an appearance a few times.

My favorite character is actually Neve’s brother Nate and my favorite part of the story is the letters. Once again, Ms. Marcus writes a story that deals with difficult issues and her characters are everyday people who, while not perfect, make the best of the hand life deals them. In the end, it’s all about finding that one person who will have your back through good and bad and I love that Neve and Roy got there in spite of the overwhelming odds against them.

 

About Wendy S. Marcus

Wendy S. Marcus is an award-winning author of contemporary romance. A nurse by trade, Wendy holds a Master of Science in Health Care Administration, a degree that does her absolutely no good as she now spends her days, nights, and weekends mucking around in her characters’ lives creating conflict, emotion, and, of course, a happily ever after.

Wendy lives in the beautiful Hudson Valley region of New York. When she’s not writing, she enjoys spending time with her family, which includes her dog Buddy, and blogging/e-mailing/tweeting/facebooking with her online friends.

 

 


Sign up for my Newsletter

Leave a Reply