TAKE THE FALL by Marquita Valentine: Review

Posted August 13, 2015 in Reviews / 0 Comments

TAKE THE FALL by Marquita Valentine: ReviewTake the Fall by Marquita Valentine
Series: Take the Fall #1
Published by Loveswept
Publication Date: July 21st 2015
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 178
Source: Publisher
Format: eARC
Goodreads
Buy Online: Amazon  Barnes & Noble  Kobo

Disclaimer: I voluntarily reviewed a copy of this book. All opinions stated are solely mine.

Fans of Abbi Glines and Katy Evans will adore Take the Fall, the first spinoff novel from Marquita Valentine’s New York Times bestselling Boys of the South series. In this emotional new romance, passions run hot as a rugged, brooding Marine rekindles an old flame.
 
As a teenager, Seth O’Connor went to jail for a crime he had nothing to do with. He took the fall to protect the girl he loved, but the cruel realities of prison hardened him. After doing his time, Seth shuts her out and enlists in the Marines—until his grandmother’s funeral forces him to come home and face Rowan Simmons once again. The woman she’s become puts all his high-school memories to shame, and Seth wants her more than ever. Can he be honest about why he denied her for so long?
 
After Seth pushed her away, Rowan swore that no man would ever hurt her again. But the boy who broke her heart has become a sexy Marine, capable of fulfilling her every desire—and now that he’s back in town, old feelings are simmering to a boil. Rowan wants to stay strong, even as her body surrenders to his expert touch. She only hopes that by taking him back, she can finally help heal the wounds that drove them apart.

 

Review

 TAKE THE FALL got me thinking about choices and do-overs. Everyone gets the first but very few get the second and this story highlights that.

The only people Rowan Simmons could count on were her brother, Jase and her high school sweetheart Seth O’Connor, until the night when everything went wrong seven years ago. During an  illegal street race, a bet gone bad and some foolish choices landed Seth in police custody alongside Jase and ultimately both of them ended up behind bars and Rowan was left all alone. Luckily (or unluckily, depending on your perspective), Seth got a lesser jail term on the condition that he enlisted in the Marines. The consequences of his decision caused him to completely cut off contact with Rowan. His time away gave him a chance to re-evaluate his decisions and his mistakes and he’s back to claim his girl, but will his love for her be enough to right all his wrongs? How can he convince Rowan to give him a second chance?

Rowan lost everything that long ago night and when Seth rejected her, she swore to never give her heart to any man again. After seven years away with no contact, not even replies to all her letters to him, he’s back for his grandmother’s funeral and she plans to keep her interactions with him strictly business. What Rowan does not expect is Seth’s determination to get her back. Will she be able to withstand the full force of his charm?

Rowan’s reluctance to open herself up to Seth again is perfectly understandable. He’s already hurt her once and it would be foolish for her to give him a second chance. Seth is willing to wait for Rowan for as long as it takes and boy does he work for that second chance. There were a few times I became really tired of Rowan and her behavior but thankfully she realized that passing up a second chance with the man that holds her heart is not something she’s willing to do so, even though she gives him a tough time, she can’t resist him.

Seth was a very sweet guy and my favorite part of the book is that he kept all her letters to him in his bag and I also loved all his responses to all them.

“You’re my compass and all directions lead me straight to where I’m supposed to be. With you.”

TAKE THE FALL was a very enjoyable read and I look forward to Jase’s story because it promises to be even more interesting.

About Marquita Valentine

Marquita Valentine is the New York Times and USA Today Bestselling Author of the Holland Springs and Boys of the South series.

Since first taking the plunge in July of 2012 to self publish, Marquita Valentine has sold over a quarter of a million books around the world. She's appeared on the Top 100 Bestselling Ebooks Lists on iBooks, Amazon Kindle, and Barnes&Noble. She's been called "one of the best new voices in romance" (Guilty Pleasures Book Reviews) and her books have been accused of being "a sexy, fun, and slightly addicting contemporary read" (The Book Queen).

Recently, Marquita signed a multi-book deal with Penguin Random House that will debut in July of 2015.

When she's not writing sexy heroes who adore their sassy heroines, she enjoys shopping, reading, and spending time with her family and friends. Married to her high school sweetheart, Marquita lives in a seriously small town in the south with her husband, two kids, and a dog.


Sign up for my Newsletter

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.