ACCIDENTALLY IN LOVE by Laura Drewry: Review & Giveaway

Posted June 16, 2015 in Giveaway, Reviews / 5 Comments

ACCIDENTALLY IN LOVE by Laura Drewry: Review & Giveaway

ACCIDENTALLY IN LOVE by Laura Drewry: Review & GiveawayAccidentally In Love by Laura Drewry
Series: Friends First #3
Published by Loveswept
Publication Date: June 16th 2015
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 298
Source: Publisher
Format: eARC
Goodreads
Buy Online: Amazon  Barnes & Noble  Kobo

I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Fans of Jill Shalvis and Susan Mallery will love Laura Drewry’s warm and humorous new Friends First romance, a sexy romp about a good cop and a bad girl playing hard to get.

 Ellie Palmer and cops don’t mix, and getting pulled over by Officer Brett Hale—again—doesn’t help. Neither does being forced to take a safe-driving course with him. Brett’s by-the-book attitude leaves Ellie ice-cold, and his rock-hard body won’t change that. Still, the more time she spends with the guy, the more she finds herself warming up to his unexpected charms.

Even though Brett comes off like a boy scout, Ellie has sparked something he wants badly enough to get him to rethink his past mistakes. But when her ex shows up, Brett makes it his mission to keep Ellie safe in the here and now. His gut tells him the guy’s trouble, and Ellie must agree, because she doesn’t complain when Brett pulls her close. To keep her safe, though, he’ll have to choose between breaking her heart . . . and breaking the rules.

 

Review

Ellie Palmer’s past run-ins with the cops have left her with an intense dislike for the boys in blue and being continually pulled over and ticketed by Officer Brett Hale does nothing to change her opinion. It gets even worse when her license is suspended and she is forced to take a safe driving course with none other than Officer Hale. She thinks that Brett is cold, rigid and by the book but tries to get along with him as much as she can for the sake of the friends they share and when her past comes back to haunt her, Brett is the one person she can count on protect her.

Brett understands why Ellie has such a dislike for cops but he just can’t help needling her all the time and her lead foot and mouthy attitude do not help, causing him to write her a lot of tickets. When Ellie is forced to join his safe driving class, he sees a different side to her personality and when her safety is threatened, he does not trust that anyone else can protect her.

I usually don’t like starting a series in the middle but the blurb and cover for this book caught my attention and ACCIDENTALLY IN LOVE is exactly what I expected: a sweet, cute and lighthearted romance filled with smile-inducing dialogue.

Ellie is a smart aleck and quick witted but has quite the mouth on her and Brett has my respect for taking her digs for as long as he did. However, her lippy attitude hides a smart and likable character. Brett’s stoic exterior hides a kindhearted man who has been shaped by his past experiences to always put safety first and he is determined to keep Ellie safe despite her disdain for speed limits. But underneath all that is a sexy and charming guy.

Ellie and Brett are characters anyone can relate to and I enjoyed seeing them discover more about each other as they spend time together and look past the walls they both have up, especially when they are forced to fake a relationship in order to protect Ellie. The witty banter between them was fun to read and I liked that there was very little drama as their relationship progressed from enemies to friends to a romantic one. The fun for me in reading ACCIDENTALLY IN LOVE lay in the journey that Ellie and Brett took to discover that the one person they had each been searching for was right there all this time.

GIVEAWAY

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

About Laura Drewry

Laura Drewry had been scribbling things for years before she decided to seriously sit down and write. After spending eight years in the Canadian north, Laura now lives back home in southwestern British Columbia with her husband, three sons, a turtle named Sheldon, and an extremely energetic German shepherd. She loves old tattered books, good movies, country music, and the New York Yankees.


Sign up for my Newsletter

5 responses to “ACCIDENTALLY IN LOVE by Laura Drewry: Review & Giveaway

Leave a Reply